Special Reports

Bishop-elect Daly to be homilist at anniversary Mass
April 20th, 2011

A Mass commemorating the anniversary of the dedication of the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption will be celebrated May 5 at noon at the cathedral. Archbishop George Niederauer is principal celebrant. Bishops from dioceses around the region are expected to concelebrate. Cardinal Roger Mahony, retired archbishop of Los Angeles, will be present in the sanctuary.

The assembly will include students from schools throughout the Archdiocese of San Francisco. Bishop-elect Thomas Daly, director of vocations for the archdiocese and president of Marin Catholic High School, will be homilist. Ordained for the Archdiocese of San Francisco in 1987, he was recently named auxiliary bishop for the Diocese of San Jose by Pope Benedict XVI.

“That will truly add to the day,” said Msgr. John Talesfore, cathedral pastor and rector. “Bishop-elect Daly’s legacy here in leadership and in Catholic education makes him a very special choice to be homilist and his willingness to do it is a gift.”

Msgr. Talesfore explained that the anniversary of the dedication of a diocesan cathedral is by church law a solemnity in the cathedral and an obligatory feast in parishes.

“I am very excited about the Mass,” Msgr. Talesfore said, noting that all members of the archdiocesan family are invited. “We are expecting a full house. ”

A novena prayer for the faithful to pray for the nine days leading up to the anniversary has been sent to parishes for printing in the parish bulletin. Prayers of the faithful mindful of the anniversary have also been sent for use on May 5 and at Masses the previous Sunday.

The annual Assumpta Award will be presented posthumously the evening of May 5 to Archbishop Joseph McGucken, under whose leadership the cathedral was built. The Assumpta Award ceremony is a ticketed event. Information about tickets is available at www.stmarycathedralsf.org.

From St. Mary's Cathedral Special 40th Anniversary April 22, 2011 issue of Catholic San Francisco.